Side Story: Father and Son

| Profile: Doran | Prologue/Introduction | | Table of Contents | Profiles | Non-Gamer Primer |


Open on Grand Festival Hub

Doran, Fintan, Ciara, and Aodh are all on screen together. Ciara, Doran, and Fintan all look older than in the main stories, with Fintan now having long hair. Aodh’s clothes look better maintained.

Doran: So, my next opponent is Eamon.

Ciara: He and the princes have grown up so fast. Sometimes it still feels like yesterday that Fintan’s pilgrimage began.

Fintan: I feel the same. I’m thankful I’ve all had all of you to support my reign, and keep it peaceful. And we’ve certainly proven that peace hasn’t made us soft, with two Lunans in the grand final.

Aodh: You know maybe I’ll join in if there’s a next time so we can keep that up, this has looked more fun than I’d thought. And I’d get to beat Hákon at his own game.

Doran: Showing these slavers up in their own arena has certainly put a smile on my face. Still, it makes me wonder about my father. I don’t know how he’d react to this, these arenas could be the last place he’d want me to be at.

Fintan: I’ve wondered that too. 

Ciara: You’re not here as a gladiator, so I’m sure it wouldn’t anger him. 

Doran: I hope so. 


Exploration Start

Now is your chance to get a feel for Doran’s moves before the battle, but you’re likely already familiar with the basics. He’s like Fintan or Eamon without any sort of sweetspot mechanic, so you only need to worry about attacks connecting rather than hitting with the right part.

Your first super, Moon’s Judgement, is a quick projectile with high damage to hit opponents from a distance. On the other hand Dance of the Wind and Balde hits all around you, requiring you to get up close.

There aren’t any NPCs to talk to here, so just focus on practice or approach Eamon to start the next battle.

Exploration End


Doran: Are you ready Eamon?

Eamon: Yes father.

Both of them walk off screen to the right.

Transition to Grand Festival Arena

Here the audience is no longer hidden by illusions, you can see the stands in the background. Some audience members are holding up signs related to the fighters, other signs are less relevant.

The stage has a flat dirt floor, with walls of ice to set the boundary. This simplistic look is merely how the stage starts out.


Battle Start

You may have the same effectiveness at any range, but Eamon is most effective up close, so you might not want to go for close range combat. You should be able to hold your own even then, but it’s still not ideal.

Platforms will appear in different formations around you, adding more space to move around and avoid attacks. Both of you want to stay on the same horizontal plane, so try to only go to the platforms when you need to retreat or pursue. Don’t forget about attacking from under the platforms however, on offense or defense.

Like you Eamon has a projectile and close range super. The latter will draw you in closer to him, but if blocked provides the perfect opening to attack. If you don’t block though it can shift the whole momentum of the match. His projectile super also gives him good cover to approach, don’t let its slow speed distract you from the need to block or avoid it.

On your end Moon’s Judgement is a good way to punish any wrong move from the other end of the stage or simply keep up pressure. Don’t use Dance of the Wind and Blade carelessly, either combo into it or use it after blocking Eamon’s own supers.

If you’re able to clear this battle, then that’s it for this story.

Battle End


Doran and Eamon stand at round start positions. They sheathe their swords.

Eamon: I’m sorry father.

Doran: What for?

Eamon: Even after all this time, I still can’t surpass you. 

Doran: You’re still young, you have time. And you’re loyal. A loyal blade is better than a powerful unwieldy one. Besides, with Aodh around I’m not sure how much our own strength matters.

Eamon: But you’ve always told me we shouldn’t let ourselves be complacent. 

Doran: I have. But, I don’t want you to feel the need to surpass me. You should find your own way to play your part. I worry sometimes if I trapped you in expectations.

Eamon: You haven’t. I want to serve Lunis as much as you do, to be someone you’re proud of.

Doran: I am proud of you. I just don’t want to burden you, to force you to be only my successor.

Eamon: You haven’t. This is the path I’ve chosen. What’s brought all this on?

Doran: I guess this is a little odd for me. It’s been hard not to think about my father here and how much he never told me. I just want to leave a good legacy for you. 

Doran: I’ve worried you enough. Come, let’s celebrate the battle. And then it’s back to the homeland. 

Side Story END

Paradox costumes unlocked for Doran, Fintan, and Aodh.


| Profile: Doran | Prologue/Introduction | Table of Contents | Profiles | Non-Gamer Primer |